Minutes of Special Called Meeting The Board of Trustees Center ISD, June 27



A special called meeting of the Board of Trustees of Center Independent School District (CISD) was held on Wednesday, June 27, 2018 beginning at 12:00 p.m. at Center Independent School District Administrative Office Building located at 107 Private Road 605 in Center, Texas 75935.


1.         Call Meeting to Order and Establish a Quorum


            Matthew Mettauer called the meeting to order at 12:00 p.m. and declared a quorum.


Present:           John Henry Holloway; Allison Johnson; Casey Lout; Matthew Mettauer; Betty                                       McDaniel, Director of Finance and James Hockenberry, Superintendent


Absent:            Brett Scarber; Greg Hubbard and Daphne LaRock


Visitors:           Matt Gregory, CHS Principal; Heath Hagler, CIS Principal; Jake Henson, CMS                                       Principal and Mickey Wulf, Interim Special Education Director


2.         Closed Session


Matthew Mettauer called for a closed session at 12:01 p.m. under Texas Government Code §551.071, §551.072, §551.074 and §551.29 for consideration of resignation/retirement of personnel, employment of personnel and real property.


3.         Open Session


            The Board returned into open session at 12:13 p.m.  No action was taken in closed session.


            3.1       District Employees and Officers:  Texas Government Code §551.071, §551.074 and             §551.129


                        3.1.1    Resignation/Retirement of Personnel


            A motion was made by Casey Lout, seconded by John Henry Holloway to accept the resignations/retirements as recommended by Superintendent Hockenberry.


            Nikki Clark, CIS Teacher, Resignation

            Haleigh Cooper, CMS Teacher, Resignation

            William Hudspeth, CMS Teacher, Resignation

            Sarah Martin, CMS Teacher, Resignation


            The motion carried 4-0.




            3.1.2    Employment of Personnel


            A motion was made by Casey Lout, seconded by John Henry Holloway to approve the employment of personnel as recommended by Superintendent Hockenberry.


            James Broyles, Social Studies Teacher, Center High School

            Michelle Cocklin, Math Teacher, Center Middle School

            Elissa Cooke, Agriculture Science/Floral Design, Center High School

            Kelly Miller, Teacher, Center Middle School


            The motion carried 4-0.


            3.2       Real Property: Texas Government Code §551.071, §551.072 and §551.129


            3.2.1    A motion was made by Allison Johnson, seconded by John Henry Holloway to             authorize the terms of a contract for the acquisition of real property by the Center Independent School District and to authorize the President of the Board     of Trustees to sign the contract and any other documents required and to         authorize the Secretary of the Board to attest the signature of the Board     President. 


                                    The motion carried 4-0.


4.         Adjournment


            A motion was made by John Henry Holloway, seconded by Allison Johnson to adjourn     the meeting at 12:14 p.m.


                        The motion carried 4-0.