Highlights of Joaquin High School Senior Awards/Scholarship Night 2018

Many faculty members, relatives, friends, and community members packed the JHS auditorium in order to show their support of the Class of 2018.  Numerous scholarships were given to the seniors, in order to help them continue their post-secondary education.


Shelby County Bass Anglers: Brock Hughes; AJ Lawrence Memorial: Jacy Williams; Farmers State Bank: Keith Johnson; Shelby Savings Bank: Annalyn DeChamplain; Shelby Savings Bank Employee: Karley Broadway; Texas State Bank: Matthew Silvey; Joaquin Employee’: Joshua Hamilton, Cralon Hughes, Katelyn Jackson, Matthew Silvey, Kase Yates; Joaquin Alumni: Kase Yates; TJ Williams: Josh Hamilton; Sirman Brothers: Madelynn Hutchins; Red Owens: Annalyn DeChamplain; Matthews-Shaw Wiggins: Matthew Silvey; Arnold Hooper: Santiago Ruiz Luna; Ag & Tech: Zachary Sharp; Hilton Family: Katelyn Martinez; JHS Class of 1964: Allyson Garrett; JHS Class of 1965: Erielle Kawaja, Addison McDaniel; Panola College Leadership: Tray Wilkerson, Jacy Williams, Jacie Lilly, Katelyn Martinez, Dalanie Stanley; Jackson Missionary Baptist Church: Weston Van Houte, Allyson Garrett, Cralon Hughes, Brock Hughes, Matthew Silvey, Addison McDaniel, Jacie Lilly, Annalyn DeChamplain; San Antonio Stock Show & Rodeo: Cralon Hughes; Joaquin Masonic Lodge: Zachary Sharp, Matthew Silvey, Keith Johnson; JVFD/Joaquin Masonic Lodge/FUMC Mike Wood Memorial: Addison McDaniel; John Paul McSwain Memorial: Lillian Welch, Keith Johnson; JHS Athletic Boosters: Desere Cooper, Dayza Lane, Brock Hughes, Kase Yates; Bone Hill Foundation: Desere Cooper, Joshua Hamilton, Brock Hughes, Annalyn DeChamplain, Matthew Silvey, Addison McDaniel, Allyson Garrett, Ana Rodriguez, Katelyn Jackson; Shelby County Cruiser: Santiago Ruiz Luna; Daughters of the Republic of Texas: Annalyn DeChamplain; First United Methodist Church of Joaquin: Madelyn Hutchins, Annalyn DeChamplain, Addison McDaniel, Allison McKenzie, FUMC Mam Shug: Matthew Silvey; FUMC Coach Billy Freeman: Ana Rodriguez; FUMC Mike Wood: Dayza Lane; FUMC Sam and Bessie Wood: Katelyn Jackson; Webb and Betty Dean Memorial: Jacie Lilly, Matthew Silvey, Tray Wilkerson; Ag Backers: Madelynn Hutchins, Cralon Hughes; Austin Underbrink Memorial: Santiago Ruiz-Luna, Keith Johnson, Jacie Lilly; Brandi Mills Memorial: Dayza Lane; JC Lewis Construction: Madelynn Hutchins; Shelby County Aggie Moms, Inc.: Brock Hughes, Matthew Silvey; Mangum Funeral Home: Ana Rodriguez; Claims Administration Services: Erica Davis; Shelby County Area Go-Texan: Annalyn DeChamplain, Allyson Garrett, Joshua Hamilton, Brock Hughes, Katelyn Jackson, Keith Johnson, Dayza Lane, Katelyn Martinez, Addison McDaniel, Matthew Silvey, Kaleb Wilburn, Kase Yates; Deep East Texas Electric Cooperative: Brock Hughes, Joshua Hamilton, Matthew Silvey, Karley Broadway, Keith Johnson, Madelynn Hutchins, Dayza Lane, Jacy Williams, Katelyn Martinez; General Shelters of Texas: Karley Broadway; East Texas Poultry Festival Pageant: Madelynn Hutchins; SFA Cynthia Betty Whiddon, Dorothy L. Irish Graves, Floyd “Dock” and Fannie Baldwin Watson, Homer Bryce, Nelson W. Jones, MD, Ray and Eleanor Hurst, Kim Golden, Bryan Blevins, Leo Rushing: Joshua Hamilton; Friends of Shelby County Duck Unlimited Darren Wilson Memorial: Matthew Silvey, Fellowship Missionary Baptist Church: Katelyn Jackson; Joaquin Volunteer Fire Department Elmer Mathew Memorial: Desere Cooper; Stanley Burgay Memorial: Brock Hughes; Gourd Neck Farms: Annalynn DeChamplain; First Baptist Church of Logansport Wilmer H. & Myrtis Jackson: Brock Hughes; First Baptist Church of Logansport Mildred Shaddix, Adam Matthews-Brad Wiggins: Brock Hughes, Annalyn DeChamplain; First Baptist Church of Logansport M.C. & Sophia Thomas: Annalyn DeChamplain; Josh Wood Memorial: Santiago Ruiz-Luna; Shelby County Farm Bureau: Karley Broadway, Madelyn Hutchins; Heritage Achievement Foundation: Brock Hughes; TX. EX’s: Allyson Garrett; Go-Texan: Keith Johnson; Louisiana Tech University Outstanding Student/Bulldog: Madelynn Hutchins; Louisiana tech University Outstanding Student Bulldog: Allyson Garrett; Northwestern State University Outstanding Student/President’s/President’s Honor Roll:  Allyson Garrett; Pell Grant: Keith Johnson; Tyler Junior College Presidential Honors/Presidential Honors Living and Learning Community: Katelyn Jackson; Willis Knighton Gives Back: Brock Hughes


Joaquin Masonic Lodge Miribeau: Keith Johnson; Distinguished Graduation Plan: Natalya Adame, Eboni Adams, Alli Jo Baldwin, Zachary Bell, Karley Broadway, Christian Carrington, Desere Cooper, Erica Davis, Annalyn DeChamplain, Allyson Garrett, Joshua Hamilton, Titus Harvey, Braeden Hensley, Brock Hughes, Cralon Hughes, Madelynn Hutchins, Katelyn Jackson, Keith Johnson, Dayza Lane, Christipher Lightfoot, Katelyn Martinez, Addison McDaniel, Bailey Murff, Trevor Raybon, Jake Risinger, Ana Rodriguez, Rosalinda Ruiz, Santiago Ruiz, Zachary Sharp, Matthew Silvey, Delanie Stanley, Weston Van Houte, Kaleb Wilburn, Tray Wilkerson, Jacy Williams, Kase Yates, Fiona Young; Distinguish Plan Advanced Measures: Karley Broadway, Christian Carrington, Annalyn DeChamplain, Allyson Garrett, Joshua Hamilton, Brock Hughes, Katelyn Jackson, Addison McDaniel, Ana Rodriguez, Matthew Silvey, Delanie Stanley; Mr. Joaquin High School: Matthew Silvey; Miss Joaquin High School: Katelyn Jackson


Joaquin High School 2018 Valedictorian is Joshua Spencer Hamilton, son of Jeffery and Alicia Hamilton. Committed to his studies in mathematics and science, Joshua is an active member of the Texas High School Rodeo in Region V Steer Wrestling and Roping Team. Academically, he challenges himself with a rigorous course load, including taking college classes at Panola College.

Joshua has played football for the RAMS, participating in BETA club, UIL Science and Math, and has been a class officer for the three years.

Joshua plans to attend Stephen F. Austin State University in the fall, majoring in Biology.  After attaining a Bachelor’s Degree in Chemistry, he will apply to Pharmacy School.



Joaquin High School 2018 Salutatorian is Brock Hughes, son of Brad and Melanie Hughes. Brock is not only committed to his high-achieving academics at school and Panola College, but also to his extracurricular activities and volunteer work.  An active member of the BETA Club and Junior Chamber of Commerce, he has collected can food, clothing and toys for the community. He has been an active volunteer at the local festivals, Little League games, and escorted the reigning queen in the Poultry Festival Pageant. Brock has represented his class and various clubs as an officer.

After graduation, Brock plans to attend Texas A&M University, pursuing a degree in Biology and continuing his education in Dental School.