2018 Shelby County Chamber of Commerce Teacher Appreciation Reception

The Shelby County Chamber of Commerce Teacher Appreciation reception, Presented by Hope Community Medicine and hosted by the Shelby County Chamber was held on Wednesday, April 25 at the Windham Civic Center in Center at 4:00 p.m. The reception is held annually to salute and recognize the dedicated administrations and teaching staff of all the Shelby County school districts.  The Chamber of Commerce Education committee presented each school campus Teacher of the Year with a Certificate of Recognition and announced the Shelby County Teacher of the Year for Elementary and Secondary schools.  This is a time when gratitude and appreciation is expressed to the educators throughout the county.  Congratulations to all the Campus winners!!  The Teacher of the Year from the Shelby County  School Campuses are:


Center Christian Academy –  Joanna Birdwell


F.L. Moffett Primary School –  Emily Newton

Center Elementary School –  Jennifer Barlett

Center Intermediate School –  Debra Hippler

Center Middle School –  Cindy Tomlin

Center High School –  Dough Moore

                                        Roughrider Academy – John Jackson                                      


Excelsior ISD – Angela Gillis


Joaquin Elementary School –  Shelli Vaughn

Joaquin Junior High School –  Mark Lawrence

Joaquin High School –  Anne Patrick


S.W. Carter Elementary –  Jackie Myers

Shelbyville Middle School –  Sally Wilburn

Shelbyville High School – Cole Harrison


Tenaha Elementary School – Stacie Barr

Tenaha Middle/High School – Teresa Wiist


Timpson Elementary –  Lucinda Simmons

Timpson Middle School – Darryl Joyner

Timpson High School –  Tanya Hammett


The Elementary Teacher of the Year is Lucinda Simmons from Timpson Elementary.  The Secondary Teacher of the Year is Teresa Wiist, a teacher at Tenaha Middle/High School.  Congratulations to these outstanding Educators!

The Pam Phelps Friends of Education Award went to the Bone Hill Foundation.  The Bone Hill Foundation provides all Shelby County Seniors with scholarships.  Roy Blackshear was present to accept the award.

Thank you to all the table sponsors and businesses who donated gifts for door prizes!

Gold sponsors for the event are Farmers State Bank and Shelby Savings Bank.

The Light and Champion

137 San Augustine St.
Center TX 75935