DETCOG Elects Officers, Gets Positive Audit

Center, TX - Houston County Attorney Daphne Session will serve as President of the Deep East Texas Council of Governments and Economic Development District (DETCOG) for the 2018-19 membership years.  Officer elections took place during DETCOG’s monthly board meeting April 26 in Center.

    The board elected Trinity River Authority Assistant Manager Bill Holder as President-Elect.  Sabine County Judge Daryl Melton was elected Vice President, and Nacogdoches City Councilman Roy Boldon will serve as Secretary.  The new slate of officers will serve one-year terms which begin July 1.

    Ms. Session is the Houston County Minority Representative on the DETCOG Board.  She currently serves as First Vice President.  Mr. Holder is also a current officer.  Judge Melton and Councilman Boldon are new to the executive committee, though Boldon has served as an officer in the past.  Lufkin City Councilwoman Lynn Torres has led DETCOG as President for the past two years. 

    During the monthly meeting, DETCOG board members heard encouraging financial news as Eric Carver with Axley and Rode Certified Public Accountants presented the annual outside audit. At the end of fiscal year 2017, DETCOG’s net position improved to $1,326,541.  The agency maintains an administration fund and nine grant funds.  Most of its funds are restricted for specific purposes as required by the various grant programs.  DETCOG ended the year with an unrestricted fund balance for the administration fund of $171,571.

    Executive Director Lonnie Hunt gave credit to the entire DETCOG staff.  “That unrestricted fund balance is a big key to our stability and flexibility,” he explained.  “It had been in the red for the past several years.  But with the support of the board, and a concerted effort by our program directors and staff, it has turned around.  It’s still not where we want it to be, but it’s a huge improvement, and we will continue working hard to build it up.”

    DETCOG is a voluntary association of local governments in the 12-county region including Angelina, Houston, Jasper, Nacogdoches, Newton, Polk, Sabine, San Augustine, San Jacinto, Shelby, Trinity and Tyler counties.  It is both a Regional Planning Commission organized under the State of Texas and a Federal Economic Development District chartered by the U.S. Department of Commerce.