Minutes from the January 15, 2018, Joaquin ISD School Board Meeting



1 The Joaquin ISD School Board met tonight in regular session at 6:00 p.m. in the Joaquin Boardroom with

the following members present: Chrisco Bragg, Tam Hearnsberger, Thomas Harvey, Bill Mason, Jr., Jeff Cater and Brandon Neal.


Board members absent: Ronnie Belrose


Guest(s) Present: Lauren Neal, Michalla Byrd, Avery Prnka, Shelby Freeman, Cullen Freeman, Davonne Stotts, Malik Stotts,

Gavin Penning, Braylin Umbrell


Joaquin ISD Employee(s) Present: Phil Worsham, Superintendent; Joel Bumback, Director of Finance; Kathy Carrington,

Special Education Director; Terri Gray, Jr. High Principal; Jimmy Jackson, High School Principal; Bert Coan,

Elementary Assistant Principal; Sherry Scruggs, Elementary Principal; Mark Bonner, Maintenance Director;

Amanda Freeman, Teacher


Mr. Chrisco Bragg, President, called the meeting to order at 6:00 p.m.


2 The invocation was led by Chrisco Bragg, and the Pledge of Allegiance to the United States of America

by Bill Mason, Jr., and the Pledge of Allegiance to the Texas Flag was led by Jeff Cater.


3 Audience Participation – Those signed up and participating were: None


4 Report and Information items:


4.1 Board Appreciation Month Presentation

4.2 Review Monthly Financial Reports – Joel Bumback

4.3 Student Transfer Agreement

4.4 Track project update

4.5 Announce Board Training Hours and Attendance

4.6 Correspondence


5 Agenda Items for discussion, consideration, and possible action:


5.1 It was moved by Bill Mason, Jr., and seconded by Jeff Cater, to approve the previous meetings

minutes. Following discussion, a vote was taken on the motion. It carried unanimously.

5.2 It was moved by Tam Hearnsberger, and seconded by Brandon Neal, to call for the School Board Election for

May 5th for the following: Two – three year terms presently held by Thomas Harvey and Ronnie Belrose.

Harold Irish will serve as the election judge and shall employ clerks as necessary. The election will be held in the

Joaquin ISD Boardroom and the Huxley Volunteer Fire Department. Joel Bumback, Jennifer McCann, and

Donna Vergo shall serve as early voting clerks to be conducted at the Administration office. Following discussion,

a vote was taken on the motion. It carried unanimously.


6 The board entered closed session in accordance with the Texas Open Meetings Act, Texas Government Code Section at

6:19 p.m. on January 15, 2018.


6.1 Enter closed session under Texas Government Codes:

§551.071 An executive session will be held for the purpose of having private consultation with the Board’s attorney

when the governmental body seeks the advice of its attorney about pending or contemplated litigation or a

settlement offer, or on a matter in which the duty of counsel to his client, under the Code of Professional

Responsibility of the State Bar of Texas clearly conflicts with the Act.

§551.074 Deliberate the appointment, evaluation, reassignment, duties, discipline, or dismissal of a public officer or

employee; or to hear a complaint or charge against an officer or employee.


6.1.1 Deliberate the evaluation of the Superintendent and his contract




7 The board entered open session in accordance with the Texas Open Meetings Act at 8:18 p.m. on January 15, 2018 and

took the following actions.


7.1.1 It was moved by Jeff Cater, and seconded by Brandon Neal, at accept and approval of Mr. Worsham’s evaluation. Following discussion, a vote was taken on the motion. It carried unanimously.


8 Chrisco Bragg, Board President, asked for items to be placed on the next board agenda.


Superintendent’s Contract, Community Eligibility Provision (CEP) Report


9 Designation of date and time of next meeting of the Board of Trustees of the Joaquin ISD

February 19th, at 6:00 p.m.


10 With no further business on the agenda the meeting was adjourn at 8:23 p.m.