Shelby County Go Texan Committee presented Pam Phelps Friends of Education Award

Brooke Harrison, Beth Nichols named Shelby County Teachers of the Year at annual reception

The Shelby County Go Texan Committe was awarded the Pam Phelps Friends of Education Award while Brooke Harrison and Beth Nichols were named Shelby County Teachers of the Year for the 2018-2019 school year at an awards reception held Wednesday afternoon at the John D. Windham Civic Center in Center.

Ed Johnson received the award on behalf of the Go Texan Committee. Since 2012 the committee has awarded more than 250 scholarships in the amount of $1,000 each to Shelby County high school graduates, said master of ceremonies Mary Lynn Tinkle.

"This is in addition to the one $20,000 scholarship awarded to a Shelby County student each year," she said. "The Shelby County Go Texan Committee works tirelessly to raise money to be able to offer these scholarships. Last year alone they awarded $49,000 in scholarships to Shelby County seniors."

Each year the committee hosts a banquet with all the money raised staying in Shelby County for county public school students.

"All students who submit a finished application for a scholarship will receive one - it's just remarkable, isn't it?" Tinkle said. "The Shelby County Go Texan Committee believes the best way to invest in Shelby County is to invest in the future by equipping students with the ability to attend college."

Nichols, a Center Intermediate teacher and tennis coach, was named the Shelby County Elementary Teacher of the Year for 2019 while Harrison was named Shelby County Secondary Teacher of the Year for 2019.

The reception honored Teacher of the Year selections from each school district and campus in the county.

The Teacher of the Year from the Shelby County School Campuses are:


Center Christian Academy – Karen Mayo


F.L. Moffett Primary School – Jessica Belrose

Center Elementary School – Kirstin Turner

Center Intermediate School – Beth Nichols

Center Middle School – Pamela Doggett

Center High School – Michele Whiddon

Roughrider Academy - Erica Klei


Excelsior ISD – Sonya Nutt


Joaquin Elementary School – Monica Smith

Joaquin Junior High School – Mary Hovey

Joaquin High School – Brett Gaylord


S.W. Carter Elementary – Jason McDonald

Shelbyville Middle School – Bailee Rash

Shelbyville High School – Brooke Harrison


Tenaha Elementary School – Carrie Jenkins

Tenaha Middle/High School – Tammy Hamilton


Timpson Elementary – Melanie Sanford

Timpson Middle School – Kendra Welch

Timpson High School – Darlene Therwhanger


Gold sponsors for the event are Farmers State Bank and Shelby Savings Bank. Silver Sponsors are Dr. James Hockenberry, Nacogdoches Medical Center and Ray Jones Chevrolet.


The reception is held annually to salute and recognizes the dedicated administrations and teaching staff of all the Shelby County school districts. The Chamber of Commerce Education committee presented each school campus Teacher of the Year with a Certificate of Recognition and announced the Shelby County Teacher of the Year for Elementary and Secondary schools.

For photo gallery from Wedensday's event, please click below:

Check out photo gallery from Wednesday afternoon teacher reception