Incumbent county tax assessor-collector Debora Riley seeks re-election

Debora Riley on Wednesday joined a growing list of candidates filing for ballot spots on the March 3 Republican Party Primary election.

Riley is the incumbent Shelby County Tax Assessor-Collector. So far she has not drawn an opponent with the filing deadline coming up at 6 p.m., Monday, Dec. 9.

Two more candidates filed for ballot spots in the March 3 Republican Primary Election on Tuesday resulting in contested races for district attorney and Shelby County Pct. 3 Commissioner.

Stevie Smith filed to seek the county commissioners post for Precinct 3 creating a contested race with David Cheatwood who filed earlier.

Challenging incumbent Shelby County District Attorney Stephen Shires is Karren Price.

Incumbent Pct. 5 Constable Robert Hairgrove on Monday filed for re-election in the March 3 primary election.

He faces a challenge from Josh Tipton who filed his intentions to seek the office earlier.

In addition to the five candidate race for Shelby County Sheriff, a three-way contest for the Pct. 3 Justice of the Peace position developed with this past week's filings by Billy D. Barnett and Darrell Alford.

They join Sean Permenter who had filed earlier for a spot on the March 3 Republican Party primary ballot.

The field of candidates seeking the Shelby County Sheriff's position includes Newton Johnson Jr.; Tanner Peace; Derek Barbee, Joey Hudnall and Kevin W. Windham, according the the Texas Secretary of State's Office.

Seeking re-election to the Shclby County Republican and Democrat party chair positions are Leigh Porterfield, running for re-election as GOP county chairwoman; and Patsy Handy, again seeking the chairmanship for the Shelby County Democrat Party.

Contested races for two Shelby County Constable positions shaped up with the filing of challengers for the Precinct 1 and Precinct 4 jobs. Ricky King has filed to run against incumbent Zack Warr for the Pct. 1 constable's position while Bryan Gray has filed to challenge incumbent Pct. 4 Constable Jake Metcalf.

Both Metcalf and Warr filed for re-election earlier.

The state's secretary of state's office reported no filings for the Democrat Party March Primary election other than Handy running as party county chairwoman.

The window for Shelby County area residents to file for a ballot position in either the Republican or Democrat primary elections in March ends at 6 p.m. Monday, Dec. 9.

The filing period opened on Nov. 9 for elected public office positions while the period to file for party precinct chairmen opened on Sept. 10. The party primary elections are set for March 3, 2020 with the winners of those races advancing to the general election ballot next November.

Shelby County level positions on the ballot include those for district attorney, county attorney, sheriff, two county commissioner seats, the county tax assessor-collector and five precinct constables.

Filing so far through Tuesday of this week have been:

• District Attorney — Stephen Shires (I) and Karren Price

• County Attorney — Gary Rholes (I)

• County Tax Assessor-Collector — Debora Riley (i)

• Sheriff — Newton Johnson Jr.; Tanner Peace; Derek Barbee; Joey Hudnall and Kevin W. Windham.

• Pct. 1 County Commissioner — Roscoe McSwain (i)

• Pct. 3 County Commissioner — David Cheatwood and Stevie Smith

• Pct. 3 Justice of the Peace — Sean Permenter, Darrell Alford and Billy D. Barnett

• Pct. 1 Constable — Zach Warr (i) and Ricky King

• Pct. 2 Constable — Jamie Hagler (i)

• Pct. 3 Constable — Roy Cheatwood (i)

• Pct. 4 Constable — Jake Metcalf (i) and Bryan Gray

• Pct. 5 Constable — Josh Tipton and Robert Hairgrove (i)

• County Democrat Party Chair — Patsy Handy (i)

• County Republican Party Chair — Leigh Porterfield (i)

Also filing for re-election has been incumbent District 9 State Rep. Chris Paddie, (R-Marshall). His district includes Shelby County and he filed for re-election on Nov. 9.

The Light and Champion

137 San Augustine St.
Center TX 75935