Early voting in runoff elections continues through July 10

Early voting for the Shelby County July 14 runoff elections continues through Friday, July 10.

Early voting will be held at the Center Community House on San Augustine Street just as it was during the March primary elections, according to Jennifer Fountain, Shelby County Clerk.

She said that has been made possible through the cooperation of Center city officials City Manager Chad Nehring and Tommy Hughes. The Community House is located at 424 San Augustine St.

Early voting days and times:

  • Monday, June 29-Thursday, July 2, 8-4:30.

  • We will be closed Friday, July 3rd, for the holiday weekend.

  • Monday, July 6-Friday, July 10, 8-4:30

If someone is disabled, over 65, or out of town during the scheduled dates, they can call us at 936-598-6361 and request a ballot by mail, she said.

  “Of course, due to the COVID-19 pandemic, if anyone that does not meet voting by mail criteria above but has an underlying health issue and feels unsafe to come inside the polling place to vote, we are more than happy to offer curbside voting, which means we will bring the ballot out to your car for you,” Fountain said.

The runoff election was originally scheduled to be held in May but was delayed by Texas Gov. Greg Abbott after the coronavirus pandemic hit the state of Texas.

In Shelby County there are three local races on the Republican July 14 runoff ballot. Topping the slate is a county-wide race for sheriff

In the five-way race for Shelby County Sheriff in the March GOP Primary election, there will be a runoff between Kevin W. Windham with 1,651 votes, or 30.31 percent of the total, and Newton Johnson Jr., with 1,175 votes or 21.57 percent of the total.

For the Pct. 3 Shelby County Commissioners seat there is a runoff between Stevie Smith and David Cheatwood. The two topped a three candidate field in the March Republican Primary with no candidate receiving a majority of the vote.

Smith had 687 votes (45.87 percent) to Cheatwood's 638 votes (40.74 percent. The third candidate the Pct. 3 commissioners race was Willis Blackwell with 241 vote (15.39 percent).

In the five-way March GOP primary race for Pct. 3 Justice of the Peace there will be a runoff between front runner Melba Rodgers with 438 votes (42.2%) to second place finisher Darrell Alford with 298 votes, or 28.71 percent of the total.

Voters participating in the Democratic primary will decide the outcome in two statewide races. Most notably, state Sen. Royce West, D-Dallas, is facing decorated Air Force veteran MJ Hegar in the Democratic primary for the U.S. Senate seat.

Whoever wins will go on to face U.S. Sen. John Cornyn, R-Texas, in the fall. The other statewide Democratic primary runoff is for a seat on the Texas Railroad Commission, a regulatory agency that oversees the oil and natural gas industry.

The Light and Champion

137 San Augustine St.
Center TX 75935