Beth Nichols, Brooke Harrison named Shelby County Teachers of the Year for 2019

Wednesday afternoon reception hosted by Shelby County Chamber of Commerce recognizes top educators

For photos from the annual reception, please click here:

Photo Gallery from April 24 Shelby County Teacher Appreciation Reception

Beth Nichols and Brooke Harrison were named Shelby County Teachers of the Year for the 2018-2019 school year at an awards reception held Wednesday afternoon at the John D. Windham Civic Center in Center

Nichols, a Center Intermediate teacher and tennis coach, was named the Shelby County Elementary Teacher of the Year for 2019 while Harrison was named Shelby County Secondary Teacher of the Year for 2019.

The reception honored Teacher of the Year selections from each school district and campus in the county.

The Teachers of the Year from the Shelby County School Campuses are:


Center Christian Academy – Karen Mayo


F.L. Moffett Primary School – Jessica Belrose

Center Elementary School – Kirstin Turner

Center Intermediate School – Beth Nichols

Center Middle School – Pamela Doggett

Center High School – Michele Whiddon

Roughrider Academy - Erica Klei


Excelsior ISD – Sonya Nutt


Joaquin Elementary School – Monica Smith

Joaquin Junior High School – Mary Hovey

Joaquin High School – Brett Gaylord


S.W. Carter Elementary – Jason McDonald

Shelbyville Middle School – Bailee Rash

Shelbyville High School – Brooke Harrison


Tenaha Elementary School – Carrie Jenkins

Tenaha Middle/High School – Tammy Hamilton


Timpson Elementary – Melanie Sanford

Timpson Middle School – Kendra Welch

Timpson High School – Darlene Therwhanger


Gold sponsors for the event are Farmers State Bank and Shelby Savings Bank. Silver Sponsors are Dr. James Hockenberry, Nacogdoches Medical Center and Ray Jones Chevrolet.


The reception is held annually to salute and recognizes the dedicated administrations and teaching staff of all the Shelby County school districts. The Chamber of Commerce Education committee presented each school campus Teacher of the Year with a Certificate of Recognition and announced the Shelby County Teacher of the Year for Elementary and Secondary schools.

The Light and Champion

137 San Augustine St.
Center TX 75935