98th Annual Chamber Celebration recognizes outstanding community contributions

Shelby County Judge Allison Harbison is recipient of the 2020 Distinguished Service Award

Resilience could have been the theme of the evening Thursday at Center's Windham Civic Center as the Shelby County Chamber of Commerce hosted its 98th Annual Awards Celebration.

As several accolades were presented, one of the themes woven in the presentations was how the each of the honorees not only survived tough times like those presented by the COVID pandemic, civil unrest and a volatile election year, but how they triumphed and have helped make their corner of the world a better place.

Shelby County Judge Allison Harbison received the chamber's Distinguished Service Award from last year's recipient, Fannie Watson.

The Citizen of the Year Award went to James Ragan who received the honor from last year's awardee, Clay Ihlo.

Waylon and Margo Griffith received the Shelby County Farm Family of the Year honor from Lane Dunn, Shelby County Extension Agent-Ag.

This year's two Shelby County Teachers of the Year each came from the same school district, according to Mary Lynn Tinkle who introduced the. Virginia Fischer was presented at the Secondary Teacher of the Year while Laura Oates received the honor for Elementary Teacher of the Year.

Each education honoree was recognized for their years of service in Center ISD.

Receiving the President's Award from Shelby County Chamber President Deborah Chadwick was Stephanie Elswick.

Chadwick introduced Wil Blackshear as the incoming Chairman of the Board of the Directors for the organization while Roger Doyle was introduced as chamber chairman-elect to serve in the top volunteer leadership role in 2022.

Welcoming remarks were given by Allison Harbison, county judge, and David Chadwick, Center mayor.

The Light and Champion

137 San Augustine St.
Center TX 75935