Get out and vote - if you haven't already

Along with a number of state wide and regional races on the Nov. 6 general election ballot are a couple of contested local races.

Among those affecting voters in Center and within Center Independent School District are a contested city council position and a school board of trustees race. In the city of Center incumbent Councilman Jerry Lathan is being challenged by Rogers Yarborough for the District 2 council seat.

Yarborough said three main issues prompted him to seek the position.

“Streets, pot holes and cleaning up city rights of way,” he said. Yarborough said city streets have been plagued with pot holes for years with little progress made on getting them fixed.

“Our streets are not maintained and the city's right of ways are all grown up,” he said.

Lathan was appointed to the council in November 2013, to complete an unexpired term. He is a graduate of C.H. Daniels High School in Center and served his country in the United States Marine Corps. He went on to attend the University of Texas in Austin.
His main goal is the see the completion of Perry Sampson Park and upgrade of all city streets as needed. He wants to see Center grow with new business and affordable housing.

Three other Center Council incumbent members are unopposed in this year's election. They include District IV's Dr. Randy Collard and at-large members Leigh Porterfield and Terry Scull.

In the Center ISD election there are six candidates running to fill four positions on the school board. Those candidates include Joyce Edwards, Daphne LaRock, Deuce Wulf, Greg Hubbard, John Henry Holloway, and Traci Willoughby. The top four recipients will be seated on the school board.

Only registered voters living within the district are eligible to vote in the Center Independent School District races.

Early voting by personal appearance continued through Friday, Nov. 2, with officials reporting more than 4,000 Shelby County voters turned out to cast ballots either absentee or in person during early voting.

On election day, Tuesday, Nov. 6, polling places in Shelby County will be open 7 a.m. To 7 p.m. at:

Precinct 1 N (Center) – Polling location is at First United Methodist Church, 211 N. Porter Street, Center, Texas 75935 

• Precinct 1 SO (Center) – Polling location is at Church of Christ, 110 Hurst Street, Center, Texas 75935

• Precinct 1 SE (Center) – Polling location is at Pineywoods Family Outreach Center, 255 Haley Drive, Center, Texas 75935

• Precinct 1 SW (Center) Polling location is at Center Community House, 423 San Augustine Street, Center, Texas 75935

• Precinct 1 W (Center) – Polling location is at JOI Ranch Building, 5198 FM 2026, Tenaha, Texas 75974

• Precinct 2 (Aiken) – Polling location is at Excelsior School, 11270 St. Hwy 7 W, Center, Texas 75935

• Precinct 3 (Sardis) – Polling location is at Campti Pentecostal Church, 6153 FM 414, Center, Texas 75935

• Precinct 4 (Huxley) – Polling location is at Lydia Baptist Church Fellowship Hall, 14998 FM 139, Shelbyville, TX 75973

• Precinct 5 (Joaquin) – Polling location is at First United Methodist Church Fellowship Hall, 175 Faulkville Road, Joaquin, TX 75954

• Precinct 6 (Dreka) – Polling location is at Dreka Pentecostal Church, Fellowship Hall, 1193 FM 2427, Shelbyville, Texas 75973

• Precinct 7 (Shelbyville) ­– Polling location is at First Baptist Church - Shelbyville, Fellowship Hall, 5030 SH 87 South, Shelbyville, Texas 75973

• Precinct 8 (Tenaha) – Polling location is at First United Methodist Church Fellowhip Hall, 226 N. George Bowers Dr., Tenaha, TX 75974

• Precinct 9N (Timpson) – Polling location is at Texas State Bank Annex, 830 N 1st Street W, Timpson, TX 75975

• Precinct 9S (Timpson) – Polling location is at Timpson School Gym Foyer, 836 Bear Dr., Timpson, TX 75975.

The Light and Champion

137 San Augustine St.
Center TX 75935